The Graduate Committee

Master of Music in Performance

At least three faculty members who are members of the graduate faculty will serve on the graduate committee. The committee wiil be composed of at least one professor from the applied area and one each from music theory and music history.

Master of Music Therapy

For students completing MUS 5999 Thesis in Music Therapy. the thesis committee will be comprised of the thesis advisor as chair and at least two other members of the graduate faculty, one of whom must be in music therapy. The third member may be either in music therapy or a member of the graduate faculty from the student's specialty area. When the committee has been tentatively selected, the student will contact personally each prospective committee member. The chair will complete the online Graduate Committee Form, which will be routed electronically to each committee member and to the Dean of the Hayes School of Music.   The original will be returned to the student. This committee will advise the student throughout the preparation of the thesis.

For students completing MUS 5995 Clinical Paper in Music Therapy, the committee will be appointed by the Program Director and will include the supervisor of the student's Advanced Practicum and two other members of the graduate music therapy faculty, taking into account the student's Specialty Area. The committee will read and evaluate the student's written and oral comprehensive examinations.

Note: Students desiring to apply previously completed courses to their degree programs must provide the graduate advisor with transcripts of such courses at the first advisory meeting.